Sports Desk: In the main phase of the T20 World Cup, New Zealand destroyed the hosts Australia in the first match. Chasing 201 runs in Sydney, Ajira was reduced to 111 runs. And the hosts started the tournament with a big loss.

Read more: No one from BNP was arrested

After losing the toss and batting first, the Kiwis got the basis of a big collection in the powerplay with the bat of Finn Allen and Devon Conway. Allen’s storm continued till the fourth over. However, the Kiwis scored 56 runs in four overs in devastating batting.

Allen was bowled by Hazelwood after scoring 42 runs off 16 balls. After his departure, New Zealand added a total of 65 runs in the powerplay, although the run rate dropped slightly. After Allen’s departure, captain Williamson took the reins of the team with Conway. The two added 69 runs for the second wicket.

Read more: BNP rally started, railway station vandalized

After the departure of Williamson with 23 runs from 23 balls, Glenn Phillips, who dropped to four, could not increase the innings. Has returned with 12 runs off Hazelwood. Jimmy Neesham and Conway quickly added 48 runs for the fourth wicket to take the team to 200 runs. Neesham was unbeaten on 26 off 13 balls.

In response to 201 runs, Australia was disorientated in the beginning by Tim Southee’s cannon and Mitchell Santner’s whirlwind. Glenn Maxwell and Tim David could not hold on to the team that lost the first 4 wickets in the team’s 50 runs. The hosts were all out with 17 balls to spare.

Read more: Prime Minister Maloney’s oath

Mitchell Santner and Tim Southee took maximum 3 wickets for Kiwis. Trent Boult got two wickets. Loki Ferguson and Ish Sodhi got one wicket each.



Source link