Sun News Desk: Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 7 wickets in the second match of T20 World Cup.

Read more: Australia target of 158 runs

Earlier on Tuesday (October 25) Sri Lanka scored 157 runs batting at the Perth Stadium. In response, Australia won in 16.3 overs with the help of Marcus Stoinis. Stoinis scored a fifty off just 17 balls. And after playing an unbeaten innings of 59 runs in 18 balls with 4 fours and 6 sixes, he left the field winning the team. Captain Aaron Finch remained unbeaten on 31 off 42 balls with 1 six. Besides, David Warner 11, Mitchell Marsh 18 and Glenn Maxwell remained unbeaten on 23 runs.

Sri Lanka did not have a good start after losing the toss to bat in Perth. In the second over of the innings, Kushal Mendis (5) returned to the ball after Pat Cummins scored 6 runs.

Read more: The Irish in the Super Twelve

Pathum Nishanka and Dhananjaya De Silva brought the team back into the match with a 58-ball 69-run partnership for the second wicket. But when Dhananjaya fell victim to Ashton Agar for 26 off 23 balls, the Lankans were in danger again.

Pathum Nishanka (40 off 45), Vanuka Rajapaksa (7 off 5) and skipper Dasun Shanaka (3 off 5) got back by 14 runs. Sri Lanka lost 5 wickets for 111 runs, lost the sixth wicket for 120 runs.

From there, Charith Asalanka and Chamika Karunaratne put on a 15-ball 37-run partnership to bring the team a challenging collection. Asalanka remained unbeaten on 38 off 25 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes. Karunaratne scored 14 off 7 balls.

Read more: Good start for Bangladesh in World Cup

Sri Lanka XI
Kushal Mendis (wicketkeeper), Pathum Nishanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Vanuka Rajapakse, Charith Ashalanka, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Mahish Thiksana and Lahiru Kumara.

Australia XI
Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Agger, Josh Hazlewood.

Sun News/NK


Source link