Sun News Desk: In the first round of T20 World Cup, Ireland reached the Super Twelve after defeating West Indies by 9 wickets in their last match.

Read more: Sri Lanka is sure of Super Twelve

Windies captain Nicklas Pooran won the toss and elected to bat at Hobart’s Bellerive Oval today (October 21). There was one change to the team, with Brendan King returning to the XI. Meanwhile, the Irish XI was unchanged.

The Irish reached the port of victory with 15 balls in hand after playing the target of 147 runs given by the Caribbean.

Ireland took out the match with the opening pair of Andy Balbirnie and Paul Sterling. They made a pair of 73 runs off 45 balls.

Read more: A target of 147 runs to Ireland

Balburni departs after the powerplay. He scored 37 off 23 balls with 3 sixes and fours. Of course, the way to win the Irish did not have a friend! Paul Sterling kept his usual game to the end. Wicket-keeper batsman Lorcan Tucker gave him worthy company by scoring 45 runs off 35 balls. In the end, the team won by 9 wickets. With that, the farewell bell rang for the two-time champions Windies, Ireland went to the Super Twelve.

The Irish are currently number one in Group ‘B’ with two wins. In today’s second match, after the match between Zimbabwe and Scotland, it will be decided who Paul Sterling will play against in the Super Twelve.

Read more: Boris wants to be prime minister again!

Ireland XI
Paul Stirling, Andrew Balburnie (captain), Lorcan Tucker (wicketkeeper), Harry Tector, Curtis Campfer, George Dockrell, Gareth Delaney, Mark Adair, Simi Singh, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little.

West Indies XI
Kyle Myers, Johnson Charles, Evin Lewis, Brendan King, Nicholas Pooran (captain/wicketkeeper), Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Aqeel Hossain, Oden Smith, Alzari Joseph, Obed McCoy.

Sun News/NK


Source link