#Birmingham: The Indian women’s cricket team won the most important match of the Commonwealth Games 2022. Team India beat Barbados by 100 runs to secure their place in the semi-finals. Earlier, Australia, England and New Zealand reached the semi-finals.

In the first match, the Indian team lost to Australia by 3 wickets. But Smriti Mandhana made a great comeback defeating Pakistan by 8 wickets in the second match. Edib Jemima Rodriguez scored an unbeaten 56 against Barbados. In reply to India’s 162 for 4, Barbados could score 62 for 8.

Read more- Asia Cup: Desperate to beat India, Pakistan announced the first team for the Asia Cup

Barbados won the toss and decided to bowl. Smriti Mandhana was dismissed for 5 runs in the second over. After that Shefali Verma and Jemima took the lead of the team. After 6 overs the score is 50 for one wicket.

Shefali Verma was run out with 43 off 26 balls. Hit 7 fours and a six. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur was dismissed for no runs.

Tanya Bhatia was dismissed for 6 runs. Meanwhile Jemima Rodriguez completes half century in 44 balls. Hit 5 fours and a six. He remained unbeaten on 56 runs.

Indian team scored 162 runs for 4 wickets in 20 overs. Deepti Sharma remained unbeaten on 34 off 28 balls. Hit 2 fours and a six. Jemima and Deepti’s unbeaten half-century took the Indian team past the 150-run mark.

Fast bowler Renuka Singh Thakur has performed brilliantly. In the first over of the innings, he bowled T20 attacking batsman Diandra Dottin for a zero run.

In his second over he dismissed Hayley Mathews for just 9 runs. 8 players from Barbados could not reach double figures. Knight scored maximum 16 runs. This is India’s second biggest win in terms of runs.

Read more- Heath David Gay Cricketer: ‘I am gay’, international cricketer’s explosive confession! At Hoochie CreekTay

Indian Women’s Team: Smriti Mandhana, Shefali Verma, Jemima Rodriguez, Harmanpreet Kaur, Pooja Bhastrakar, Tanya Bhatia, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Radha Yadav.

Published by:Suman Majumder

First published:

Tags: Commonwealth Games 2022, CWG 2022


Source link